Browse By

The jury of the Jumpthegap international design contest selects the 8 finalists

The jury of the jumpthegap international design contest has selected the 8 finalists of its VI edition. The competition, which is organized by Roca in collaboration with the Barcelona Centro de Diseño (BCD), has presented a great deal of novelties this year, and a total of 112 different countries from around the world have participated. From the 30 preselected projects of architecture students and young professionals, the jury, presided by Ma Yansong, has selected the 8 finalists projects. The winners of the jumpthegap’s VI edition will receive a €6,000 prize for each, the professional and student categories, which is a considerable increase in comparison to previous editions in order to further promote young talent. Another novelty has been the creation of a special sustainability award.  The winner in this category will take home a €3,000 prize that will be handed over by the We Are Water Foundation. The competition aims at acknowledging proposals that encompass innovative designs and sustainable use, strengthening the commitment towards sustainability and respect for the environment. These are the finalists: Professional Category: 1. BTWIST. Irene Cañada & Raquel Prendes (Spain) 2. NANOSOAP. Pablo Luchino (Argentina) 3. ORIGAMI-BATH. Andrey Lebedev (Russia) 4. ROCA ANALYTIC. Joan Alba & Iago Buceta (Spain) Student Category: 1. [ARIA]2. Samuele Nucaro & Cristina Tu Anh Pham (Italy) 2. B-THIN. Victoria Bellido & Angel Cobo (Spain) 3. GLOVES: CLEAN & DRY. Halszka Barełkowska (Poland) 4. TOTEM. Marta Muñoz & Helena Galí (Spain) The award ceremony will take place at the Roca Madrid Gallery in October, where the winners will be announced. Attending the ceremony will be the president of the jury and renowned architect Ma Yansong, winner of numerous awards and acknowledgements, among which is Young Global Leaders 2014 (YGL). The other members of the jury in this edition are well-known professionals from the world of design and architecture, like: Marcelo Rosenbaum (Brazil), Designer and Director of design and innovation office Rosenbaum; Tom Dyckhoff (United Kingdom), journalist and architecture critic; Guta Moura (Portugal), Co-founder of Experimenta and Director of the EXD Biennale; Josep Congost (Spain), Roca Design Center Manager; Rafael de La-Hoz, Architect (Spain), Patron of the Contemporary Architecture Foundation and Isabel Roig (Spain), Managing Director of the BCD (Barcelona Design Centre) and Past President of BEDA (Bureau of European Design Associations). It will be a great opportunity for young talents and professionals of the field of architecture to meet a prominent figure such as Ma Yansong in person during one of his few visits to Spain, this time on occasion of the delivery of the jumpthegap awards. Fuente: Roca Read more news related jumpthegap published at Infurma Read more news related Roca published at Infurma Read more news related Barcelona Centro de Diseño (BCD) published at Infurma Visit the jumpthegap website Visit the Roca website Visit the BCD website
Share this: